Navgraha Mantras

Navagraha mantras are a prayer in Sanskrit addressed to Navagrahas or the nine planets which are believed to have an effect on ups and downs of humans. Often, unfavorable positioning of the planets can cause problems and stagnation in our lives which may not be addressable by our personal efforts alone. Navagraha Mantras are simple, yet powerful healing tools to pacify the malefic effects of the concerned planets.  


Nine Planets (Navagraha) Mantras are very useful in alleviating effects of being under the dasha of any particular planet. Planetary positions are considered by looking at a person's horoscope. According to astrologers, when planets are weak, the person receives bad results related to it. When the planets are strong, they also get a direct benefit. All astrological calculations are based on the position of the nine planets in the twelve constellations of the zodiac at birth and the planetary moves, position of the planet at birth. The planetary moves directly affect the life of a person, their activities, physical and mental health.

Reciting these Navagraha Mantras has the effect of creating positive vibrations and influencing the related planets to give favourable results.  Mantra chanting needs to be done based on planet which is troubling in the horoscope with faith, devotion and concentration. Chanting of Navagraha Mantras increases the positive aspects of planets while minimizing their harmful effects. But for this to happen, mantras should be pronounced clearly. In case of a slight error in its pronunciation, the meaning can prove to be disastrous as well. It is necessary to continue the chant for atleast 40 days in order to see the benefits. 


Chanting of mantras of Navagraha also brings following benefits:-

  • Helps remove negative effects of particular planet and strengthen the positive impact of the planet.

  • Improves quality of personal and professional life.

  • Gains the positive blessings of the Navagrahas.

  • Keeps away bad luck and misfortune

  • Keeps away diseases and ailments.

  • Attain peace and happiness in life and stays away from any evil.

  • Helps to attain salvation (Moksha).


There are two types of Navagraha mantras in Astrology called Vedic and Tantrik Mantras along with Beej Mantra. Following are the Veda Mantras or Vedic Mantras for each one of 9 planets among Navagraha:

A note on Navgraha Mantras:


Navagraha Mantras consist of nine sacred hymns, each of which is dedicated to one of the Navagrahas. These simple, single-line mantras are chanted to propitiate the 9 powerful planets. Chanting these hymns with devotion can help in getting various benefits from the auspicious and favorably placed planets; and in reducing the adverse effects of the inauspicious and unfavorably placed ones. 

A planet governs every day of the week and it is believed that the mantra addressed to a planet should be recited on the day dedicated to that planet for optimal results. For instance, Surya Mantra can be chanted on Sundays, Chandra Mantra on Mondays, and so on. Rahu and Ketu do not have any days dedicated to them. However, one can chant Rahu Mantra on Saturdays and Ketu Mantra on Tuesdays.

Recommendations for Navgraha: